Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The purpose of films has been a topic of debate in modern society as people’s opinions vary from a source of entertainment to a way of gaining knowledge. This essay is to shed lights on both views before reaching my conclusion.

Supporter of former statement argue that the main purpose people going to cinema is to depressurized themselves but not to study and gain knowledge. Their saying is rooted in the fact that a comedy film easily draws attention from viewers by their humorous stories, enabling watchers relaxed and recharge batteries for their life. To win viewer’s favors in this sense, it is not uncommon that Vietnamese film producers, for example, have invited ubiquitous comedian actors and actresses to play the main roles in their films. Given their sense of humors, these films easily gained popularity, especially among the young, getting the high audience rating.

I side with those who believe that, however, films makers should bear in mind that the message delivered determine whether their stories would be remembered or not. People today, especially workers or elderly, have a really low tolerance for a meaningless movie which has no educational value. In fact, people watch comedian films for humorous scenes only and skip the rest, whereas an instructive film makes people follow all episodes to clearly understand the messages behind. Blockbuster films from Disney, Marvel, for instance, never fail to introduce an educational value, from the lessons of saving the poor, paying attention to environment problems to the love and generosity shared between people. That is the reason why their viewers are always looking for watching them, as contrast to comedian film makers who could only make one or two famous films.

To recap, owing to these mentioned arguments, one can reach an conclusion that a successful film is the one that could leave watchers a lesson to think about, rather than some funny sayings that are to be forgot.