Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

There are individuals who advocate that home-learning is the optimal approach for the development of their offspring while there are others who argue that going to school is essential for the children. This essay will shed light on both perspectives, followed by my own suggestion.

Detailing the advantages of home-schooling, flexibility would come as the first advantage. Whether in terms of the duration of classes or the number of subjects intake, the practice of flexibility has a significant benefit to the child's development. For instance, more learning hours for maths in home-schooling for a young individual who has got innate talent in maths. Moreover, at home, the teacher or the guardian who teaches can give more attention and care towards the child, compared to the counterparts from the school, whereby they can fully focus on improving strengths and detecting weaknesses. Additionally, the youngster studying at home will likely to read or observe more subject-related materials than others at schools which helps the individual to be proficient in the respective subject. Efficiency, resourcefulness, and flexibility can be considered as perks of home education.

Turning to school education, there are several benefits to count on. Firstly, the students will be studying in a room where there is a teacher and their colleagues. In the classroom setting, the child will develop cooperativeness when it comes to his or her friends, and a sense of respect to their teachers or the seniors. Likewise, there will be interaction with seniors and friends from other classes in which a sense of camaraderie will be enhanced in the child with the classmates through joint projects or sports events. In terms of lectures, the youngster will develop their concentration and critical thinking since they will be provided not only a single delivery of lessons from the teacher but also innovative ideas and thoughts from the other students. A cooperative mindset, strengthening empathetic nature, and open-mindedness to new ideas are regarded as valuable characteristics of schooling.

In conclusion, both home learning and school education have considerable benefits to the children. However, it is important to accept that none of the approaches should be decided as the best for the children since they both are complementing each other and whether it is workable or not is largely dependent on the characteristics of the child itself.