Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suppose that high school students should be involved in community service as a compulsory agenda part of the whole educational system. Most of the colleges and universities are providing opportunities to gain work experience but those are not compulsory. In my opinion, it is a good idea for students to work in compulsory services.

It is obvious that unpaid jobs for organization charity take up some time of students who need to spend more valuable time on their study. Besides, this activity does not bring any awards for thoé participants. However, it í a good activity to provide valuable skills such as life skills, organisational skills and working skills... while doing voluntary work, students can learn life skills. For example, they can learn how to communicate with others and work in a team but also how to manage their time and improve their organisational skills. Moreover, with sufficient social experiences and working skills, students may be more competitive in the job market after graduation in the future. Obviously, establishing community service as a compulsory part in high school education is more valuable than after school, most the students go home and sit in front of the TV, browse the internet or play games.

On the other hand, by giving them compulsory work activities with charitable or community organisations, they will be encouraged to be something more creative and useful for the whole society. For instance, throughout these charitable activities, students can understand and sympathize those disabled people better, so they will pay more attention and take care of these special groups and make them feel happy not to be discriminated against in this society. Namely, this activity helps others teaches young people to understand and support each other in the community.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the government and some organisations add community service to compulsory education, especially in high school.