Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or reaching sports to younger children).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Everyone, at some point, thinks of giving back to the community he has been living in or lived in. Several ways in which one can do for the community is spending their weekends with charity, cleaning up neighbourhoods, and teaching underprivileged kids. The author agrees that unpaid community service should be embedded into high school programme which will give rise to good Samaritans.

The high school students will get a lesson in human values like gratitude and humility. The students will also learn a thing or two about respecting other cultures. For instance, several schools in India have Scouts programme, under which high school students can enrol to perform activities like AIDS awareness campaign, cleanliness and environment rallies in local areas, all while learning to be disciplined and compassionate.

In addition to this, the experience gained working at a local community centre or charity helps in career development as well. One can learn how to manage, organize, and plan activities and manpower for the betterment of the community. This initiative will help them grow as leaders and managers of tomorrow all this while adding value to their resume.

The next generation, which basically comprises of current high school students need to be taught how they can make a difference to human lives and make the world a better place for the living. The world, currently, is at the most divided state in human history so it would be very beneficial to groom the teenagers while we still can. The rationale of the young minds will be moulded to love and embrace rich and poor alike.