Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the last decades with advances in flight technologies, travelling across the world is easier. While this is a good thing it in general, it also brings some problems like adapting new cultures and customs. Although it is a necessity to adjust our behaviors in the new country, it should not be obligatory to give up all our lifestyle.

First of all there might be religious beliefs and sacred subjects, which you cannot ignore, and respect them as they are. For example, cows are sacred in India, which is why they don’t eat them, it is rude and arrogant to insist on this. Similarly, in some Islamic countries you have to wear clothes, according to the rules of Islam. It would be useless and disrespectful to argue with the local people about those subjects.

On the other hand, since the globalization is inevitable, the host country should also inform the people who would be travelling to their country about certain local customs. There should be open warnings to avoid unpleasant misunderstandings. Moreover, in an ideal world, they should provide the people alternatives to let them feel comfortable. Even if it is not popular or not so suitable for the host country, the governments can provide support for those places. This can increase the adaptability of the people both in the host country and the traveler. Respect is the sum of action or thoughts, which should be bidirectional.

To conclude, we have to understand that, there are 7 billion people living around the world, while most of them can have roughly similar traditions, others may differ grossly, where we should respect others lifestyles, both in our home country and places where we visit.