Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, people produce millions of tonnes of wastes from household activities and some of them could be recycled. However, it is true that many of us do not recycle this waste but simply dump them in dumping site. It is not uncommon to hear that this problem can be solved only be legislating a new piece of law. However, I strongly disagree with such opinions as I believe that government should provide incentives to encourage recycling of wastes rather than enacting laws.

Firstly, any law that compels people to recycle their household wastes tramples their freedoms and rights. It is likely to put unnecessary burden and hardship on the community where the benefits and returns are simply difficult to quantify. If government passes such laws, people may have to walk miles every day to find the recycling centres as such centres cannot be established within the vicinity of every accommodation. In this process, people lose their precious time and may not able to attend their daily and other important activities.

Secondly, it is difficult to monitor and implement such laws as security personnel cannot knock every door and find out if the family has obeyed the laws. For example, people may simply throw the garbage on the street at night in violation of the laws and government will not be able to do anything. Such laws are in fact, mockery of the law enactment procedures and our parliaments should spend time on more vital issues. Because of the possibility of ineffectual implementation and enforcement, such laws can not promote the good cause.

In my conclusion, people are likely not to get encouraged to recycle the litter from their house only because there are laws to compel them to do so. Such laws come on the way of people’s freedoms and also are also likely to be violated often making them unworkable.