Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Although recycling the waste produced at home will not take a long time, some people don’t recycle enough waste at their homes. Therefore, I believe enacting laws by the government to require all people to recycle their waste is necessary.

To begin with, laws can force all the people to recycle, or they will be punished. For those who are reluctant to recycle waste, they will begin recycling their waste for fear of being punished. While social media can promote recycling as well, not all people pay much attention to this suggestion, especially those senior citizens who do not read newspapers or use the smartphones. Even if the young have seen the suggestion in the TV program, there will be some who don’t take that seriously and sill throw their wastes into the dustbins without selecting the recycled ones.

Besides, laws can enhance the awareness of protecting the environment among the public. Much more attention will be paid to the worsening environment as soon as laws concerning home waste are published. More people will tend to change their lifestyles, such as taking the bus or subway to commute instead of driving private cars. In the supermarket, more people will carry bags made of cloth rather than plastic. All these contribute to a better environment and a healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, in order to effectively require all people to recycle waste at home, laws are in great need to ask all citizens to form good habits of protecting the environment.