Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is often argued that advertisements are remarkably efficient at influencing people’s purchase decisions. However, a large number of people believe that the popularity of advertisements has declined due to their overly commonplace appearance. This essay agrees with the former idea.

On the one hand, there are a plethora of reasons to explain for the descending attention that advertising is receiving. First of all, advertising can easily annoy customers with its incessant displays. It is inevitable that people are likely to encounter advertisements in every daily activity as not only television but also Youtube and emails are utilized as ideal platforms for advertising. Since pop-up advertisements on those platforms are abundant and always appear suddenly, they harshly disturb people’s experiences which eventually result in advertisements being resented and ignored every time they emerge. Furthermore, as advertising tends to exaggerate about functions of a product to impress customers, people might feel that they are deceived by advertisements if the product they purchase does not live up to their expectation. This is certainly a detrimental downside that leads to advertising being neglected by the population.

On the other hand, much as the drawbacks of advertising are concerned, various measures are implemented so that advertisements can remain a potent method of commercial promotion. With regards to the frequency of advertisements, data about consumption behaviors are synthesized and analyzed to help advertising agencies identify which groups of learners are searching for which products. Thus, relevant promotion details can be presented directly to those in need of them, which will greatly alleviate the risks of spamming and agitating customers. Considering advertising ideas, rather than solely boasting about features and services of a product, content creators nowadays focus on inventing stories that grasp audience’s mind and lure them into instant purchase. For example, instead of describing the taste of the product, commercials for soft drinks during Tet holiday usually features scenarios of family reunion. Of course, this way of advertising has a huge impact on consumers’ tendency which stimulate sales to rocket accordingly.

In conclusion, while some advertisements can be redundant and outdated, with technological advances and the creativity of those in the industry, advertising will continue to prevail as a powerful method of marketing.