Some people say that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today studying abroad seems to be perfectly preferred by many parents as well as students. It is said that a country where there is a huge number of abroad students tends to absorb an immense prospect. As far as I am concerned, I almost disagree with that statement. This is because of many reasons, and I will analyze some primary of which in this essay.

To begin with, it is likely that most people choose to study overseas according to their advantages, which is the first place in their list of purposes. In other words, their main aim is not for their country. As a matter of fact, their country, probably, does not facilitate a sufficient environment for them to boost their talent as possible as they desire. In turn, studying abroad opens a door to access novel expertise that they do not have an opportunity to be equipped in their country. Moreover, although having to confront with a competitive environment in a strange country, they are still able to earn a considerable amount of income as long as they substantially make strong efforts.

Another reason I would like to mention is a knock-on result from the previous reason. When the scale of prospects people receive in another country is higher than that their country provides them, it is probably that people, eventually, gravitate toward opting for a stay at a foreign place. In fact, we have a so-call word in relation to this phenomenon: “ brain drain” which leads to a consequence that a country may suffer from the loss of talents.

In conclusion, despite the benefits that individuals can obtain from studying overseas for their own sake, there is a likelihood that a country has a tendency to face detrimental effects rather than great benefits.