Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are saying that the rapid growth of economic development is the only way to end the suffering of hunger and poverty, while others are arguing that this situation should be stopped as it’s destroying the environment. In my opinion, I believe that there are several damages in the environment in which the growth of the economy brings.

On the one hand, economic activities are undoubtedly effective tools when it comes to poverty in all nations. Without strong finance, governments can not afford to support citizens who need and therefore, slowing the overall development of the whole nation down. Only the growth of the economies can provide lower inhabitants with employments opportunities and saving many lives from the cycle of food shortage. For example, the more advanced an economic system is, the larger the demand for labor there is, and further hunger is repelled. Consequently, this would ensure stable payment, thereby helping individuals escape from chronic poverty.

On the other hand, the rapid development of a nation could bring detrimental impacts to the environment. Firstly, ozone depletion is one severe consequence of economic industrialization. This is caused by the increase in the number of factories and vehicles which release more emissions into the surroundings. As a result, the human is now facing a high risk of skin cancer by exposing directly to UV rays from the sun. Secondly, economic achievements are associated with greater consumption of resources for energy or traveling. Actions such as deforestation to cultivate crops will destroy natural habitat and imbalance the nature world. When trees are being cut off, a wide area will not be covered and the soil will be eroded by rains in the long term. Furthermore, the earth will lose its natural air-filtering system which worsens the current air pollution caused by the car’s exhaust fumes.

In conclusion, while economic growth shows a certain profit in solving the world’s hunger, the consequence of environmental deterioration will directly affect human health adversely in the long term.