Some people say modern children s games do not develop a wide range of skills while traditional games can be much better for developing such skills To what extent do you agree or disagree

There has been a remarkable increase in the number of people who believe that new generations’ games are not useful to develop a variety of skills, according to their view traditional games can be better in order to improve these skills. This essay will delve both sides of this view before drawing a reasonable conclusion. I partially agree with this idea is that, because both modern and traditional games have benefits and drawbacks for developing skills.

Admittedly, after decades of speculation, child psychologists now have fairly accurate information concerning benefits of modern children’s games, such as PC and PlayStation games. The main advantage of these is that children can learn technological information, such as programming code languages, graphich design skills thanks to these games. A good illustration of this is that pupils who play PC games are more predisposed to develop successful mobile applications than others in Turkey. Secondly, modern children’s games provide not only technological skills but also productivity. Thus, modern games have positive effects on children’s skills but parents should be prudent because these games might be perilous for their mental health.

Despite these arguments, traditional games can enhance children’s skills, such as creativity and problem solving skill. Perhaps the primary advantage of traditional games is that children’s creative thinking skills can increase through the traditional games. According to a report published by the New York Times, there is a pronounced correlation between creativity of students and spending time on traditional games. Furthermore, Turkish children play more traditional games, as a result of this is that their problem solving skills increase, which in turn leads to cope with complex issues. Hence, benefits of traditional games should not be underestimated by both parents and teachers.

In conclusion, it must be said that the decision as to whether which games can be better to develop skills of children must be taken in the context of the entire society. However, my personal view is that both traditional and modern games can increase children’s skills.