Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Traveling and working abroad seem to be the two main purposes that make people study different languages from their native language. However, in my opinion, although these two reasons are the most popular ones, people are studying foreign languages for several special reasons.

Most of people learn a new language so as to communicate with the locals and to understand the indigenous culture, as well as to do business in the objective country. In fact, to be survived and live well abroad, traveler or worker must know at least the basic level of English, or native language. People will get too much trouble in daily activities without a good communication with local people. For workers, they would not be accepted to any foreign company if they are not be able to speak English or the needed language. For example, in order to travel to China, Taiwan, and some other Chinese-speaking countries, knowing Chinese is the first priority to have a good experience with the Chinese culture.

On the other hand, people also study foreign language for various important reasons than traveling and working overseas. The trend of globalization and international trade have been spreading out all the world in the recent decades. Nowadays, domestic enterprises may sell and purchase with many foreign customers from different countries right in their own countries thanks to the internet. Thus, knowing at least English becomes necessary. Secondly, learning the new language also benefits for expanding knowledge. There are some important books or materials written in foreign language that scholars want to read but they are not to be translated. Therefore, they need to learn the new language to access to the valuable information. Getting married to a foreigner is also a reason leading to studying a different language.

In the way of conclusion, in order to travel and work in a new place, it is essential that people need to know the native language. However, it exists other important reasons that people should know other languages than their local one.