Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Nowadays, television has had sufficient impacts on children’s action. While people believe that the length of time young people spending on watching television has great effects on them, I would argue that the content of TV programmes affects more on the way youngsters behave.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why sitting in front of screen for a long time affects to children’s behaviour. The first one is that by keeping their eyes glued to screen for several hours, young people can easily become overly reliant on TV shows for entertainment. If children have this habit, in a long run it is possible for them to neglect their engagement in outdoor activities which may lead them to a sedentary lifestyle and a detrimentally physical health. Secondly, because of excessive attention to television, the youth can have a reduction on interaction with their families and friends. As a result, they can be isolated from the real world and even become a victim of autism.

On the other hand, I believe that broadcasted images can have more direct effects on young viewers’ behaviour. Firstly, children are not mature enough to distinguish between right and wrong so that they can simply expose themselves to counter-educational programmes which might contain misconception and inappropriate behaviour to young people. For example, violence in some movies can show poor examples for the youth, therefore they may have the potential of committing crimes in the future. In addition, unwary viewers can be easily swayed by captivating advertisements which target audience including children. Consequently, preschoolers will pester their parents to buy these products impulsively.

In conclusion, although both the amount of time and the content of television have significant impacts on the action of young people, it seems to me that children have been more affected by what they see on television.