Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people opine that students should be independent in selecting the course for tertiary education while other debate for confining the students to study the particular subjects in line to usefulness in the future.

Education is the right of every individual and everyone is free to study in accordance to their interest. In the present era of globalization, the students are not confined within the community, university or nation while there is access to every pint of advancement in any nook and corner of the world through internet.

Personal interest of the individual is of prime concern regarding the study of specific subject matter. Individual preference towards specific study is bound with the passion, vision, and motivation, thereby developing a competent technical manpower.

Also, the diverse field of study helps to balance the economy of the nation through the all-round development of the nation. Expertise in various fields helps concentrate the limited manpower within the nation with good professional opportunities.

On the other hand, study in accordance to the usefulness in the future can be viewed from both sides-bright and dark. The academics in the university with particular subjects helps create abundance of manpower in the related field, however, this may directly affect the development of other sectors in the nation. Also, this may result in tremendous increase the internal competition, greater chances of brain drain, unemployment and many more. However, the government needs to adjust the policy and programmes in line with utilization of manpower efficiently.

Overall, education is the fundamental right of every individual and decision on study needs to be based on the students himself/herself. Globalization, balance of national economy along with personal interest of individual are the core forces. However, convincing policy with better economic and social environment can help attract academicians towards the specific fields.