Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how much choice students should have with regard to what they can study at university. While many people argue that students should only follow subjects which are beneficial for their future career, I believe that they have their own rights to choose which university courses to study.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why some people assert that students should study only subjects which are useful in the future. Firstly, people often consider subjects such as medicine or engineering to be more beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, students choosing these subjects may have more job opportunities, career progression, higher salary and therefore an improved quality of life. Also, on the societal level, governments can ensure that by forcing students to study specific courses, knowledge and skill gaps in the economy can be covered. Secondly, a focus on technology in a number of universities can lead to new inventions and great future prosperity. These breakthroughs may have huge impact not only in scientific areas but also in economy development.

Despite arguments discussed above, I still believe that students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. This is because nobody can predict which areas of knowledge would be most useful in the future career of a person. It may be that employers begin to recruit new employees by valuing creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, society would need more students of art or history than of science or technology. Therefore, allowing learners to choose whatever they are passionate about not only open more options for individuals but also bring about tremendous benefits to society.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally believe that people should be free to study whatever they like.