Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Which subjects should be included in the curriculum at tertiary education seems to be a topic of controversy. While a school of thought hold that it would be better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas related to their future career, another one claims that they should be at liberty to study whatever they like. Personally, I side with the latter view.

It is understandable why some people support the opinion that the view of studying subjects such as science and technology, which will be useful for the future. Firstly, these course will provide more employment opportunities for graduates with better salaries, and therefore, students after graduation can have a higher quality of life. Secondly, society can benefit from a youthful labor source in key subject area. They are well-educated, creative and physically strong which fuels new invention, economic growth and greater future prosperity.

However I am convinced that choosing which subjects to learn at university should be freedom of students. If students are passionate about what they are learning, they will pay attention to lessons and grasp more knowledge and skill. Besides, the freedom to pursue the subject we like creates a diversity of employees, not only in science and technology, but also in art, business, tourism and other sectors. A healthy economy needs such variety. Finally, nobody can predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical and technology skills. If this were the case, perhaps we could need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology.

In conclusion, despite some arguments for university to force students to some particular subjects they think useful in years ahead, I advocate the autonomy to choose whichever we like to learn.