Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The choice of subjects to study in universities is an important but difficult process. There are many institutions that offer a wide variety of different subjects, and all of them vary in their importance in regards to the future. Thus, some people believe that students should strictly choose the ones that will be useful whereas others favour personal interests in this choice. In my opinion, it is necessary to consider both of these factors and make a decision based on one's own values.

Consideration of practicality of the field is essential when it comes to this choice since it impacts the future income of the individual. Demand for some future careers that people can pursue with them might decrease, meaning the salary will decline as well, whereas other branches are more likely to be required even in the future. For instance, technology is actively developing at the moment, which indicates that they will be even more in demand. However, if students are forced to choose a subject that they are neither passionate about or great at, this will likely lead to poor emotional state and work performance. Therefore, this alone will lower their chances of getting required since they will not be able to manage their job well.

Furthermore, passion about the branch of study that people select guarantees higher probability of good performance in what students do. This is because people tend to put more effort into something they are keen about. For instance, when students learn about unknown aspects of subjects, it is natural to come across difficulties, yet love for their field enables them to keep going as it motivates them. Thus, choosing the subject of your interest can benefit students financially and emotionally in the future more than one they were forced into learning.

In conclusion, both individual interest and general practicality are crucial when it is a matter of picking one's field. In this regard, I think that students should be given the chance to consider these two options themselves. For the better of their future, regardless of their final decision, the rightest thing in this case is to leave students their freedom of choice.