Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With increasing number of crimes and more people being put into jails, this phenomenon seems to linger on. While some people believe that criminals should be given longer stays in prison, I agree with those who feel that there are other ways how to be punished.

From the Middle Ages, people have been punished by prison sentences. People are given prison sentences based on their crimes, more or less longer. Increasing time which should criminals spend in a jail might warn members of the public to commit crimes, however, prolonging time in a jail may highly affect nation economic. Prisoners are not always forced to work and as a result all expenses followed with their stay in jail are paid by taxpayers. Prolonging prison sentences as a way to learn them a lesson or give a precedent to public will not only funds from government budget from more important projects, but also will lead to the need to build new prisons owning to lack of spare jails for new prisoners.

However, I side with those who believe that there are other ways how to tackle problem of crime. People should be aware of consequences they might focus if they commit crime. During the education schools should educate students how to be a good human and how to live in diverse society. Secondly, criminals should be forced to work in areas where exer effort is necessary. Take mines for example. Instead of putting people into the jail, where they get food three times a day and almost all day relax like on vacation, however, free of charge, people should be allocated to work manually in not really friendly environment. Most importantly, the most serious crime, murder, should be if found guilty punished the same way. Some countries, mostly in the US, implementing this rule for decades and in these states, number of murders dipped to minimum. Not until are people given death punishment if killed someone, will number of murders linger on.

In short, although prolonging prison sentences might have a merits, therefore, on balance, I believe that there are other ways how to reduce crime and punish criminals.