Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale whereas some believe they should be solved nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Pollution has exacerbated in the past decade. Toxic fumes and particulate matter have occupied our breathing space. Plastic has clogged our water bodies. These pollutants pose a serious treat to our heath and our resources. In my opinion, this issue should be tacked at all levels, internationally, nationally, and individually.

The role played by developing countries and under-developed countries is crucial in curbing pollution. These countries in their quest to become a Superpower have exploited natural resources the most. To assist them in using these resources judiciously, the developed countries can produce environmentally friendly technologies. Furthermore, deciding on environmental goals by all nations is important such as reducing carbon emissions, utilising renewable energy sources and hazardous waste management. Various summits can be held to discuss the problems and provide solutions regarding the environment. For instance, the Kyoto Protocol and Paris agreement. This is how the issue can be addressed globally.

Within a nation, the politicians and the media can effectively spread awareness regarding environmental problems. Several initiatives can be taken to meet international environmental goals. Use of green technology in various sectors can limit the growth of pollution. Industries and companies should be continuously monitored for their toxicity levels. Stringent laws and fines should be imposed on individuals and companies that do not adhere to environmental guidelines.

Individually we can be conscious of our actions that harm the environment. Small habits such as switching off the fans and light after leaving a room, not using excess of water, throwing waste in the dustbins only as well segregating it according to dry and wet waste can be adopted. As residents of Earth, it is our duty to ensure we keep the planet clean.

In conclusion, the environmental problems plaguing our planet can be solved only if everyone takes a firm stand and contributes equally.