Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Genetically modified crops cause controversy among the population whether they are healthy or harmful. I believe that is early to affirm that GM food is totally dangers free. This essay will discuss both views and state my own opinion.

Trying to optimize the production of food, genetic engineers have been working to modify seeds DNA to protect them against insects, climates problems like droughts and also to improve the quality of plants. All these points and others facilitate farmers to face many challenges during a growing season, to produce more food without using more soil, besides keeping food prices more consistent. These advantages make some people approve of the use of a genetic engineer.

On the other hand, a lot of research has been done to determine how GMOs impact human health. The findings point out no differences that implicate a higher risk to human health from these products, but there are no certainty zero risks. On the contrary, some studies relate a sort of illness to genetically modified food. As an example, the growing number of people allergic to milk or gluten, as well as the increase in cancer cases. These possibilities concern a part of the population that avoids consuming GMOs.

In conclusion, I personally tend to agree with these concerns. I think that while there may be great benefits to GM crops, overall there is no reassurance for the risks against human health. More long-term studies are necessary for avoiding an irreversible impact before spreading this innovation.