Some people think healthcare should be made free for all people, while others believe people should pay for healthcare by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over the significant expenditure, that health care demands. Some believe that, the governments should take care of the health of people, without asking any money from them, while others argue that an individual should take care of the medical bills. In my opinion, it is one of the logical and moral responsibilities on the part of government, to take care of the well being of its people, and essential medical facilities should be available to all for free.

To begin with, although, spending money for health related matters is a non-productive expense on the government’s part, it should be comprehensively taken care of by them. This is because, individuals are paying high taxes in hope of living a convenient and better life, and efficient medical coverage, is one of the key parameters to enhance the quality of life. Besides that, it is also a moral responsibility of the regulatory authorities, to reduce the sufferings of a person by providing quality medical care, even if that individual is financially unable to pay for it. By failing to do so, there will be increase in the disease burden, which will indirectly affect the growth of entire community and nation. Nevertheless, there are other factors that influence disease burden too, but suitable medical care is a vital determinant.

However, it is vital to establish a guideline, regarding the medical facilities and procedures to be provided for free. Improper planning in this regard will exert significant pressure on the government funds. For instance, it is essential to manage diseases like heart attacks, diabetic coma, and road traffic accident at the earliest, and the government should provide them for free. In contrast, procedures like dental bracing, breast augmentation, or fat removal surgeries, need not to be supported by free healthcare schemes, as none of them are life saving measures. There are numerous examples available, where injudicious use of free healthcare adversely affected the government finances to the extent, that whole system failed to function. The health care reforms in the United States of America is an appropriate example of this misuse, that forced the US government to withdraw many beneficial health care programs for its people.

In conclusion, although free health for all is a key responsibility of governments, yet there is a need of proper distribution of medical budget to avoid exhaustion of such an important and vital facility.