Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is a controversial topic about whether using technology for communication purposes bring about negatively influences the young's reading and writing skills. However, from my perspective, I believe that both benefits and drawbacks could be seen clearly, depending greatly on teenagers themselves.

With the development of modern engines and devices, the poor students' academic performance in writing and reading is attributed to the excessive indulgence in contacting through electronic devices. Apparently, in order to use verbal language without effort, teenagers nowadays create network language consisting of acronyms and slang. These short words, positively, help young people to save more time as well as coincides with a lack of practicing and utilizing formal language, therefore, the young’s ability in writing would likely be affected in the long term. A further disadvantage, attributions of conversations and interactions through hi-tech gadgets are usually brief and easy to understand. By reading this form of message, especially with susceptible adolescents, the young would tend to get used to it day by day and lose their reading competence sooner or later.

Some people assume that modern communication methods assist people to increase their writing ability. This is because many convenient functions have been developed to assist users in writing correctly and smoothly. For example, Grammarly is software helping users a lot in writing documents or electronic mails correctly and smoothly. By using this software, young people wouldn't struggle in writing and advance their skill. However, a closer examination reveals that this method would have a tendency to impair teenagers' literacy competence as they would be interfered with the convenient functions mentioned and blocked from utilizing formal language competently.

In conclusion, using technology has disadvantageous effects on literacy skills or not still a controversial argument. I maintain my opinion as this controversy brings both benefits and drawbacks to young people using these devices.