Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that smart (communication) devices (that are) used by the young in daily communication has some adverse impacts on their literacy skills. While I acknowledge the logic behind this suggestion, I still firmly disagree with it for several reasons.

Those who believe that communicating by/on/with these devices more often brings about negative effects on how well young users read and write may have several arguments. They may well argue that various sources of distractions on computers and mobile phones can prevent young people from focusing on reading and writing activities. For example, when notifications on social media or emails appear, teenagers may / tend to / are likely to check them. These young users may procrastinate their reading, which can lead to a decrease in their attention span, and thus they easily become bored while reading. Another possible argument is that abusing digital communication can be detrimental to formal writing. For instance, when texting young people usually use slangs or abbreviations, they  can be familiar with such expressions, which are inappropriate for the formality of the situation if used in an essay or a résumé.

Nevertheless, I still oppose this view for several reasons. Chief among these is that various programs and digital platforms can help improve writing skills. A case in point is Grammarly, a writing assisting program, which gives detailed feedback, explanations and suggestions for users’ sentences. Thus, the young users can learn from their mistakes, thereby gradually enhancing their ability to write a sentence or an essay. The second reason is that communication technology can provide young users access to valuable sources of reading materials. A good Illustration for this is that computers and mobiles with Internet connections can allow their users to read scientific research and studies on Google Scholar, as well as novels and fiction on Wattpad.

In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that using computers and mobile phones increasingly will/may discourage young individuals from developing their ability to read and write. However, I cannot support such a view given the aforementioned reasons.