Some people think that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There is no unanimous consent on whether teachers and scientists or money makers would be more successful. It is a common belief that wealthy individuals should be acknowledged as paradigms in society, others and I deem that financial wealth should not be the sole criterion for measuring success.

There are several reasons why affluent people tend to be a typical illustration for successfulness. There is no doubt that payment is often attached to capabilities, so those with handsome salaries and high incomes are depicted as a successful image. In this world of materialism, people who are able to generate immense profits for companies are likely to be appreciated or viewed as the elite. In addition, individuals who accumulate considerably financial wealth that could be used to support themselves and others are seen as accomplished ones. Their success is also defined by the number of people they financially aid. For example, amid the Covid 19 pandemic, the people who provide tremendous food supplies and subsidies for the poor are regarded as perfect models in community. Thus, helping others materially is also a symbol for success measurement.

Having said that, from my own standpoint, scientists and teachers are successful people in society as well for multiple reasons. The very first reason is that thanks to researchers’ findings, countless of breakthroughs have been conducted, which transform the history of mankind. Such scientific achievements have brought about many changes and solutions to global major setbacks such as containing disease outbreaks or finding alternative sources of energy. The second main reason is that educators – the people with sacred missions – convey knowledge to students in order to broaden their horizons and shape well-mannered behavior. The youth, as a result, can become future leaders of a country and commit their resources to its development and prosperity.

In conclusion, while people with financial wealth are regularly viewed as successful paragons, I would contend that affluence does not always equal success; the contribution from the intellectual is equivalent in value too.