Some people think that it is better for students to learn local history than world history.Do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view learning local history will bring more benefits than world history for students. From my perspective, I think both local and world history have vital roles, therefore, should be equally interested in.

It is true that there are various advantages of studying local history. Firstly, students will have proper insight into national history and cultures. To be more specific, students are not only equipped with knowledge about how ancestors fought against intruders to reclaim independence but also they understand about living styles, traditional moral values and customs. Another reason worth mentioning is that students will take responsibility for developing their nations. When they realize the importance of origin of the country, they will take actions to maintain and preserve national values and improve themselves to contribute to country’s development.

Nevertheless, I would argue that learning world history bring some certain advantages. The first reason to be given is that it helps students have a more comprehensive background of knowledge. Studying and teaching knowledge about historical events on a global scale allow students gain understanding about different aspects of life. Secondly, the globalization is popular trend worldwide, which require people to have wide knowledge foundation to integrate into the modern world. In fact, if students have knowledge about world history, they will not get cultural shock when travelling or studying abroad. Also, this helps students increase the chance of getting good jobs at the international companies and reinforces relationship at work places.

In conclusion, for the reasons above, I believe that students should study both local and world history equally.