Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

With increasing number of cars on roads, more and more serious accidents occur with more or less serious consequences. Not only car accidents is the current threat on the roads, however, almost every driver make a driving offence on daily basis. However, retaking driving test should be costly, it also has a number of benefits.

On the one hand, to become a driver is allowed in many developed countries in early teenage age. Take The USA for example. Young people are able to obtain their driver licence after turning 16, furthermore, they do not have any restrictions. From this early age, there is no compulsory reassessment of their driving skills and awareness of the road rules. Undoubtedly, getting driver licence is costly and future assessment, as advised every 6 months, can cause that many drivers will not be able to afford it. As a result of this not only they might not be allow to driver, but will not they be able to work or give a safe drive to their kids to and from school.

However, although I concede that reassessment can be costly, I believe that annual assessment of driving skills and knowledge follows by many advantages. Firstly, it can not be argued that number of car accidents rapidly increased over last decades, despite the fact that majority of cars are now equiped by developed futures to protect driver as well as others, many of motor vehicle accidents are fatal. Therefore, its not only car accident, but also driving offences such as speeding, overtaking where not allowed or lack of self-protection wearing a seat belt. Retaking or reassessing driving skills and road's rules might refresh driver memory. Secondly, with raising number of cars on the roads, experts and authorities continue to develop new road signs, rules or guidelines to make roads safer and avoid congestions. Attendance on this courses should help to the driving members of society to be up-to-date with new rules. For instance, EU recently implemented new rules how to react when arriving to line of cars on highway owning to need to make a designated lane for emergency services. This important update of the road rules have to be shared with public by social media and expensive campaign. Having mandatory reassessment, government might be able to use money spent in this matter differently.

In short, despite the fact of additional cost after obtaining a driver licence and chances of loosing this privilege to many individuals. Therefore, I do believe that reassess driving skills on regular basis outweigh drawbacks.