Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn children into

good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent I agree that the role of schools is to prepare children to be productive members of society. However, I also believe that the education process has a positive impact on us as individuals.

Some people believe that schools should teach students to become successful in their careers for several reasons. School teachers apply manifold educational methodologies like competitions to engage their pupils. In the course of this process, many children will be motivated and stimulated to study hard, aiming at achieving outstanding grades. Also, these students will expand their knowledge and gain study skills. Eventually, top students who complied with the instructions and demands of their schools are likely to get into a prestigious university. Nowadays academic qualifications are essential for getting a reasonable job and are required in many professions. As a result, these students will gain relevant degrees from university that open the door to more and better job opportunities, and earn a considerable amount of salaries. At the same time, by working in such professions, these workers contribute to improving society, as a whole.

Despite the argument above, I believe that it is more beneficial for children to lead a pleasant life for themselves rather than being pushed to become a productive member of society. Firstly, happiness is something different to each individual person, and we all have our own passions from which we take pleasure. Schools can play a key role in finding students’ potentials and what they truly like to do with their lives. Secondly, school teachers can put more of an emphasis on moral education than too much academic education content. In this sense, students may contribute to building an ideal society. For example, safety is an essential element of perfect society, and when these students grow up, the society will be better where citizens trust their neighbours and crime rate is reduced. Finally, many people experience a variety of situations which is something unfavourable during their lifetimes. Therefore, schools can teach students to make wise decisions and overcome many adversities.

In conclusion, although school’s role to turn children into successful workers is important, I tend to believe that benefiting them as individuals is more important.