Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children are the future of any country and raising up children to be members of their society is a very troublesome mission. In the next few paragraphs we are going to discuss the life-long debate of whether parents should carry out this mission or should the school and why I think this role need to be divided between parents and schools.

First, some people think that parents are the ones responsible for preparing children to be of good impact on the society and that is due to several reasons. First of all, parents are the first source of information about the outer world for their children, for instance: kids in average spend the first 5-7 years of their lives living only with their father and mother. Secondly, fathers and mothers have the most influence on their kids, one example of that is when a child is given different commands by a parent and someone else, it would most probably obey the parent’s. Furthermore, children spend most of their time in their parents’ house and thus are learning a lot from them, for instance: I lived most of my childhood and adult life with my father and mother.

On the other hand, some other people argue that the responsibility of bringing up good candidates of the society falls upon the shoulders of schools because of many aspects. Firstly, schools teach children about almost every aspect of life and it’s the main source of data concerning many things, e.g.: I learnt most of the things I know today during my school period. Second of all, the role of schools is not only to teach students their study materials, but also to enlighten them and prepare them for the outer world, such as: if it weren’t for schools, people would not manage to survive in their work lives. Moreover, people spend much time of their lives in schools and this time must be utilized in bringing up useful member to the community.

From my point of view, the role of raising up unique members of any given society must be a cooperation between both fathers and mothers and schools as parents and schools complement one another as children spend half of their day in school and the other half at home with their parents so they learn from each of them.

All in all, the precedent was a discussion of whether schools or parents must teach children to be good members of the society and why I think this should be a joint effort between the two.