Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that public transport service should be solely subsidized by governmental budget. While this practice would be applied in certain cases, I believe that both the government and inhabitants should invest in the system.

That the public transport system is entitled to financial support by the authority may not be an ultimate practice. Firstly, although the nation’s inhabitants could experience the service for free, the fiscal budget may not guarantee sufficient capitals for maintaining the system operation, particularly the budget for maintenance and sanitation. Furthermore, beside the public transport service, there are other fields that need financial investment from the authority to wholly ameliorate the residents’ living standard such as transport infrastructure and medical service. Therefore, the complete subsidy for the public transport service may not only put the government under unnecessary financial pressure, especially in developing countries, but also require a higher tax payment from the residents.

As opposed to the governmental funding completely for public transport, residents should be charged a small fare. In most countries, such as Korea, this practice would still encourage inhabitants to make use of the service, and the revenue would be generated for labor cost and other minor services. Furthermore, as the public transport operation is of prime necessity to a country, inhabitants should responsibly contribute to its development. Otherwise, the public transport system can be funded by the government, especially in developed nations, if the country has enough budget to invest in not only the public transport but other aspects as well.

In conclusion, I think that the public transport service should not only funded by the government but the residents as well.