Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Some people believe that public transport should be free for the people who use it. The idea sounds plausible but I find it hardly practical to make the public transport completely free for the citizens.

Public transportation benefits the city in many different ways. First of all, it helps reduce air pollution. Less fuel burned means better air quality for cities that have a lot of vehicles. People stop using their private vehicles which means there will be no harmful smoke released. Second, public transportation improves road congestion. The more people using public transport to commute, the less vehicles on the road to cause traffic jams. Third, the government can decrease the cost of maintaining the roads, bridges as the commuters change their way to travel from private transport to public transport.

However, the idea of free public transport is not as reasonable as people think. Firstly, it takes an extreme burden on the local budget. Therefore, investments in other fields such as healthcare, education, entertainment improvements can be limited. Secondly, we still do not know how effective public transport is for the environment, traffic and community. Because all of the benefits we have listed lately are not shown in reality, they are still very theoretical. People still choose to commute with their private transport based on some understandable reasons. Not only the government but also the residents should fund public transportation.

In conclusion, free public transportation sounds plausible for the people that want to use it but not for all. I still find it unsuitable because of some of the facts that I have listed.