Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up

Discipline has emerged as a major issue in many schools nowadays. Some people argue that parents should be responsible for ensuring a sense of discipline in their children whereas others think teachers play a main role in this. I believe both these parties need to be equally involved in disciplinary growth of children to ensure best results.

On one hand, children learn to obey their parents from early years of their lives. Since they are largely dependent on their parents for survival, naturally they are conditioned to follow them. So, parents can manipulate this conditioning to inculcate necessary habits in their kids. For instance, if kids are taught that they will get breakfast only if they wake up early in the morning, they will develop the routine of early rising. Moreover, it is easier to develop personality of children in a younger age because they adapt quickly and learn new things without questioning.

On the other hand, world is become excessively fast-paced and parents often have long work hours. Resultantly, children spend most of their time with teachers even in their younger years. This makes teachers important stakeholders in the personality development. In US, for instance, kids spend at least 12 hours per day in school. So, it is safe to say that tutors can significantly influence children into developing characteristics necessary for being a productive participant of the society. Furthermore, children consider their teachers as their role models and try to follow them religiously. This fact alone is enough to prove that teachers play a vital role in creating discipline in children.

To conclude, both parents and teachers have their own places in the lives of youngsters. Therefore, undoubtedly, both of them need to play crucial role to coach children into becoming civilized citizens.