Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undoubtedly true that the world we are living in is extraordinarily competitive and fast-changing. Therefore, several people these days supports the idea that children should be encouraged to gain a sense of competition for their own sake. Nevertheless, numerous others, including me, found that learn to co-operate with each other have much more advantageous impacts on the growth of a child

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for fostering a sense of competition deep inside the child. One fundamental benefit may lie in the motivation of this mental ability. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that this sense definitely provoke children to try every possible effort to success, thereby, allowing them to accomplish more achievement when they are in their adulthood. By the way of exemplifying, in order to surpass the others and ranked first in the class, pupils are demanded to horn their skill and enrich their in-depth academic knowledge, which offers them an opportunity to analyse things more profoundly. Nevertheless, the sense of competition may be misinterpreted from its original meanings, which arouse children to find alternative means of winning at all cost, including cheating.

From my perspective, the ability to work cooperatively play a decisive role in turning children into more well-rounded adults. The first and foremost justification is that the institutionalization results in the majority of modern occupations considered team-working as one of the prerequisites. It is particularly significant that working individually witnessed a downward trend since most people nowadays belong to a company or enterprise. An illustration of this is that a business project often requires the concerted effort not only from not only among employees themselves in a particular office but also in connection with other relevant departments. Hence, learning the proper way to collaborate is extremely essential for the forthcoming career of a youngster.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the sense of competition may foster the motivation to learn and to try their best, the merits of collaborating should not be underestimated since it is one of the top requirement in modern society