Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent statics revealed that, road accidents claimed most of the life than any epidemics or natural disasters. About two third of these accidents are due to careless driving or manmade errors. In order to tackle this down, some people believe that strict punishments should be given to the traffic offenders. While others think that there are other methods to reduce road accidents.

Strict rules and regulations are always plays a crucial role in controlling these kind of incidents. In majority of the countries traffic rules are not that much strict. Every country has their own road safely rules, many of them are failed to implement it correctly or strictly. As result, people are not taking these so called restrictions seriously because they know that thy can get away with some penalties even if they do some serious violations. If a country has an effective system to keep on eye on traffic violations, then the road accidents will automatically reduce. For instance, United Arab Emirates is one of the very few nations following this strategy. They have very strict laws regarding traffic violations and they have a perfect system to monitor this. There is no wonder why this small country is recorded for least number of accidents.

On the contrary, some people argue that instead of strict rules there are other alternatives to control this scenario. According to them, educating people about importance of obeying traffic rules makes significant difference. Drivers are disobeying the rules not just because of absence of strict policies, it is rather due to the unawareness of it's dangers and consequences. Furthermore, the authorities can tighten the driving test criteria, so that they can ensure that only best are allowed to drive a vehicle. Moreover, governments should increase the lower age limit restriction for getting the license. This way, they can ensure that only matured person is placed behind the wheels.

To recapitulate, in my opinion the law enforcements should implement a combination of both of these strategies. Strict rules followed by awareness programs defiantly make a gradual difference in the present day scenario.