Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skill needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Nowadays, with more students being enrolled in universities, many people are concerned about the knowledge and skills available. Meanwhile, whether the university should provide students with pure knowledge or practical skills remains a controversial issue. I agree with the view that the main function of a university is to offer practical skills and knowledge related to a future career.

Obviously, offering more practical skills and knowledge can prepare students better for the job maerket, thus benefiting students themselves. Most students prefer to receive a higher education because it can provide them access to better-paid jobs and higher social status. Therefore, to give the priority to the need of the majority, the university should put more emphases on skills and knowledge which can be useful and helpful in their future career development.

Moreover, it also helps if university education keeps up with social development. For instance, nowadays, people with a comprehensive skill in both English and finance are in great demand due to business globalization. Universities can provide English majors with financial knowledge or offer language studies to students majoring in finance, thus making their education advanced and leading-edge. Furthermore, these universities will gain a good reputation for their students’ high competitiveness in job markets. Therefore, it’s crucial that they take social demands into consideration in developing their curriculum.

That is not to say that universities should focus on practical skills only. Indeed, in certain disciplines, pure knowledge and theoretical basis play a more important role, such as mathematics and physics. Yet they are merely the minority.

In sum, the main function of the university is providing skills and knowledge related to students’ future careers. Meanwhile, we should not underestimate the importance of pure knowledge. Only by a proper combination of both can a high quality education be ensured and more talents who can contribute to human social development be cultivated.