Some people think that the world should have one government rather than national governments. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought that a one-world government would be better than a world with national governments. While this view is advantageous in a few aspects, the disavantages are more significant.

On the one hand, there are some merits of a world federal government. Firstly, global problems would be coped with more efficiently if there was one government in the world. Cooperation has worked throughout history because large collections of people have been able to use resources more effectively and provide greater prosperity and protection than smaller groups. Additionally, this policy can facilitate cross-national travelling as tourists may not have to acquire cubersome travel documents. Travel documents are known to cost a great deal of money and be time-consuming, so if such a matter is rised to the occasion, it will be money-saving and time-saving for a lot of individuals.

On the other hand, global homogenization is associated with some drawbacks, far outweighing the merits. This is not to say that cooperation is easy as countries in the world are differentiated by culture, ethnicity and language. This results in people’s difficulty in confederating and communicating with each other, which are the basic aspects of a homogeneous community. Moreover, it will be very difficult for one government to adequately address the needs of every single person worldwide, so invariably certain groups will be marginalized. Nowadays, there are approximately more than seven billion people around the world in total. And a government cannot give in to such a great deal of demands.

All things considered, that the world turns into one giant and has only one government is associated with many disadvantages which overshadow the advantageous. For this reason, it is not recommended that such a policy be adopted.