Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people think that the youths must engage in unpaid work to help the local community. I personally think this action should not be compulsory. In this essay, I will make a comparison between both views.

In fact, the benefits appear less significant than the drawbacks. On the one hand, students have already exhausted themselves with the homework and housework, which is considered their full-time job. If they are obligated to volunteer, this can create nothing but negative impressions about it. Instead of doing unpaid work,  they should spend their spare time doing their hobbies to find a school-life balance. On the other hand,  their contributions to society bring insignificant benefits. The society is unable to change with simple paperwork or one to two hours of volunteering per month, which the adolescents are able to do with their limited time. Furthermore, obligating the young people to do unpaid work also makes them do the tasks without enthusiasm since there is no motivation. Additionally, the youth do not receive any kind of direct remuneration.

However, aside from the negative aspect above, volunteering actually has its own positive aspects. Initially, teenagers may learn to become more responsible. Most people at that age are still heavily reliant on their parents and teachers. Therefore, taking part in community work means they are entering a new work environment with a little supervision from adults; in other words, they are given chances to stand on their own. In addition, helping others may help the juveniles make new friends.

To sum up, though young adults may benefit from doing unpaid work, this should not be compulsory at all.