Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to students about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has been claimed that some criminals are able to become productive members of our society. That is why, some people argue that ex-prisoners should talk to pupils regarding the risks of braking the law. Personally, I believe that an interaction between rehabilitated offenders and pupils should happen because it would reduce the criminality rate and will illustrate the difficulty of rehabilitation.

To begin, the main reason for the extremely high level juvenile delinquency is the peer pressure. It is needless to say that a major number of minor offenses are being done by youngsters only in order to get accepted by those close their age. For example, children with low self-esteem may do anything to gain the friendship from others. Thus, the only way to eliminate the phenomenon of peer pressure is to show the negative effects that illegal activities have and the best to do this is people who have been arrested for their crimes.

In addition to this, former prisoners could present the challenges of the rehabilitation process to pupils. First of all, there is no denying that the vast majority of prisoners would be stigmatized and will face discrimination after their release. Unfortunately, the potential of finding an occupation is significantly low, which may lead them to thefts or other illegal activities again. Consequently, having a person who has been through horrible situations after prison and has become a valuable member in the society would prevent teenagers from committing crimes.

To sum up, the debate whether former prisoners should be close to students has been a controversial issue. However, it is my firm belief that allowing a few precious school hours for discussions between ex prisoners and students would prevent them from illegal activities.