The bustle and hustle of life give rise to the ubiquity of junk food, processed foods, sugary drinks... with lower prices than they used to be. This essay will discuss whether this development has positive effects or negative downsides.

On the one hand, there are several advantages when fast food, ready meals, and sugary drinks come to existence. Firstly, most people are now bombarded with deadlines in work or study and can not manage their time to prepare food for themselves. These kinds of food and drink are a time-saving solution for them, so they can concentrate on their work. Secondly, the lower price foods and drinks enable not only poorer people to buy, but also companies to increase their sales. Therefore, the more sales of fast food, prepared meals, and sugary drinks, the more the economics can be improved.

On the other hand, all of these foods and drinks are also known as unhealthy foods and can cause harm to people’s health. Firstly, junk food, ready meals, and sugary drinks can deprive inhabitants of strong immune system. The reason is that they are devoid of nutritious ingredients, like vitamins. Secondly, the unhealthy foods can be the culprit of some diseases. They contain high fat and sodium, which can lead to obesity, diabetes, heart disease… Moreover, cancer can be induced because of the preservatives and additives in these foods. Thus, the consumer of these unhealthy foods can have to deal with some serious sickness.

In conclusion, although the popularity of fast food, processed foods, and sugary drinks is conducive to busy or poor people and the economics, these foods and drinks’ consumers can have to trade off with their health. In my view, this kind of development is positive in the short-term, but when it comes to the long-term view, it is a negative improvement.