Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the second half of the last century, there has been a switch from traditional houses with big yards to tall skyscrapers. Some people opine that loneliness and depression are more vivid in people living in a high-rise building, others believe that people derive many benefits from living in towers as they provide ample of modern facilities. I strongly believe that there are many good sides to staying in tall buildings.

On the one hand, living in tall constructions is very beneficial. Firstly, this type of accommodation provides a high-class lifestyle by offering various facilities such as gyms, swimming pools or community clubs which can entertain all residents. Having a gym in your building, in particular, enables you to exercise whenever you want. Secondly, high-rise apartments are located in the central part of cities which are all surrounded by a variety of public transportation, shopping centers, and restaurants. With better access to transportation and restaurants, condominiums attract lots of people to live there. For example, my apartment is only 5 minutes' walk to both the subway and central bus station.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of this lifestyle are also varied. It is common that persons in these houses live alone and even do not communicate with their neighbors, and more importantly, they are not allowed to keep a pet. Even if the association has no rule banning pets in the apartment complex, taking your dog down for a walk becomes cumbersome if you live on the higher floors of the building. So, consecutively sadness and loneliness are behind their walls. Additionally, if the building is flush, installing air conditioners and maintaining air conditioners, repairing a leaking pipeline becomes very difficult. In these cases, technicians and plumbers have to install scaffolding and risk their lives to attend to minor repairs. Consequently, your common area maintenance bill may become very high.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against living in high-rise apartments, but I believe that there is a wealth of satisfaction in living in tall residential apartments.