Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some people that skyscrapers' occupants feel alone and they are not cheerful, while others think that there are a lot of plus points with regard to living in multi-storey buildings. I agree with the latter group on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, some people hold the view that living in high-rise constructions makes people depressed and isolated. Firstly, skyscrapers usually consist of an array of apartment units where a great number of families are living. This leads to anonymity and therefore people do not know their neighbors even their immediate ones. As a consequence, if they need urgent help, there is no one to assist them. Furthermore, multi-storey apartment blocks may lack green areas such as park, garden and so forth. Hence, there is no place for their residents to breathe a fresh air or enjoy the song of birds. Apart from this, locating in city centre, skyscrapers are exposed to bumper-to- bumper traffic in their vicinity, and consequently their dwellers suffer from air and noise pollution.

On the other hand, the opposing view assert that high-rise buildings provide their residents with high-end facilities and security. To begin with, take gym and swimming pool of these buildings as an example; they eliminate the need of commuting to sports centers. This is an obvious benefit for today's people who are living a hectic lifestyle. Moreover, there are guards and video surveillance monitoring entrance which reduce the chance of burglary and render people safe at their homes.

In conclusion, there are some rational arguments on both sides of the controversy; however, it is my firm conviction that residing in modern apartment blocks brings various advantages such as security and convenience that any individual can enjoy.