Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that distance learning is becoming popular in higher education. While there are some arguments toward this trend, I believe that the benefits far outweigh its drawbacks in the long term.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why online classes have caused some demerits for learners. Firstly, it is obvious that learners in these courses lack the opportunities to engage face-to-face interactions with their peers and teachers. In particular, students in distance programs rely on the written form of communication, so they will be restricted to contact and exchange the ideas. Secondly, learning online requires participants to have a basic understanding of digital tools as well as knowledge about computer science. If students are not like to adapt to this new method, they will not gain thorough insights of the lessons.

On the one hand, despite the limitations mentioned above, I support that joining in online education bring a wide range of benefits. The first advantage is that these programs allow students to have access to the classes from any locations of their choice. This means students from remote areas can enroll in the courses regardless of any nation or accommodations. Another key merit is that students can seek for huge available resources in the internet which could be used to boost the students’ learning progress. If students can apply this way effectively, they will achieve better academic performance at the university.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of internet-based learning, I believe that this method will have a positive impact on tertiary education.