Some university now offer their courses on Internet so that people can study online Is this a positive or negative development

Nowadays, online learning are more and more common in tertiary education. From my perspective, this phenomenon has both negative and positive movements.

On the one hand, offering online courses at university has been beneficial in several ways. Firstly, students can create a comfortable learning environment. When people participate in online courses, they may choose places where they want. This can bring learners a sense of receptive knowledge. In the case of the library, for example, is a tranquil place and spire for learners. Secondly, this trend can save much money and time because of the flexible schedule. Instead of taking a little time to sit on the motorbike, students can relax and entertain themselves before having other lectures. Furthermore, thanks to relaxing, pupils can reduce their pressure a lot.

On the other hand, online courses are a poor substitute for traditional education at university. The first rationale is that students are not supervised by teachers so they can lose concentration on lessons easily. Then, lots of undisciplined learners get bad marks. For instance, after covid19 epidemic, the average score in all subjects was seen a dramatic decrease in Viet Nam students. Another negative development is that using smart devices frequently can cause a bad habit because learners spend most of their time sticking their eyes on the screen all day and become addicted. Moreover, students do not want to communicate with other and become isolated and anti-social. For example, the figure for autistic children grows by more than 10% in America.

In conclusion, online courses bring positive in a number of ways. However, their drawbacks in terms of fall learning outcomes should be accounted for.