In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is common knowledge that famine is an intricate conundrum. Despite recent breakthroughs and heavy investment in agriculture, poverty and hunger continue to persist around the world. Possible causes and potential solutions of such a seemingly paradoxical matter would be elaborated in this essay.

To commence with, there are various factors that engender this enigma. Primarily, a booming population poses increasingly growing demands that go beyond what is feasible for farming advancements. The global human community is expanding more than ever, inducing inflated food demands on a large scale. Agriculture and rural development is woefully outpaced by that of the world population. What is more, the current issue of uneven food distribution among different regions also augments the matter. Due to climatic, financial and political complications, proportions of the global agricultural output in different countries hang in the balance. As a result, some areas are heavily burdened with famine despite improvements in agricultural harvest.

Despite such a bleak reality, viable measures can be implemented to alleviate the situation. First and foremost, family planning policies ought to be enforced to curb the rampant population growth. Specific guidelines and penalties need to be introduced, while mass educational campaigns are conducted to raise public awareness of the matter. It is also advisable for nations to put more emphasis on issues of international significance including politics and diplomacy. Countries can arrange agreements concerning food import and financial aid, as well as transferring agricultural technology to enhance crop output in arid areas. Food disproportion can therefore be ameliorated to ensure nourishment, both qualitatively and quantitatively.

To encapsulate, while food shortages are not necessarily mitigated by headway in agricultural production due to the perpetual overpopulation and the disproportionate food allocation, the matter can be overcome with appropriate family planning and optimal international relation policies. Drastic measures need to be implemented to relieve people from the torment of hunger for the sake of a better future world.