Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Verbal communication is sometimes thought to be more effective than written ones. From my perspective, I would agree with that viewpoint.

Advocates of written communication have their own justifications. Traditionally, written language is often deemed as a means of preservation. From the beginning of time, the writing system was invented to record early manuscripts, which allows historians and descendants to have a deeper insight into historical times. Today, writing is an integral part in legal documents because of its formality and longevity. Besides, many opt for written communication due to its educational benefits. With the availability of reading materials, the effectiveness of learning has been improved considerably, and people can gain access to a wealth of reliable information.

Having said that, I contend that oral communication can be better to some extent. Firstly, this means of communication is flexible compared to written ones, allowing changes in the decisions made. Moreover, the response is also prompt and spontaneous, which is time-saving and cost effective when making decision. Therefore, spoken communication is favorable for daily conversations, especially in case of problem resolution. Additionally, I strongly believe that spoken communication is better at raising morale among people. For example, if the authorities want to achieve social unity to fight terrorism, an eloquent speech can speak louder than documents. This is because the informality of verbal language is much more touching and persuasive, easily narrowing the gap between speakers and listeners.

In conclusion, while I concede actual merits of written forms of communication, I also believe that there are clearly cases which verbal communication can be more powerful.