Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question related to the importance of academic knowledge and life skills has caused many controversies among the public in recent years. While I agree that academic knowledge has an indispensable role in our education, I also believe that practical skills should also be taught in the educational environment.

On the one hand, academic subjects provide a wealth of useful information for students to have a more profound understanding of the world in which they are living. In fact, it is essential that the young generation must attain the capability to ameliorate their society with their knowledgeable comprehension. As an illustration, by learning history, students can acknowledge the successes as well as the failures of their ancestors, thus take part in preserving valuable historical resources for the upcoming generation. Furthermore, these young pioneers can even discover new methods when facing alarming societal problems by using their deep understanding acquired in schools.

On the other hand, life skills also plan an important role as equal to academic knowledge. As a matter of fact, practical skills enhance students' competences in social circumstances, making them the pioneers of the new era. To demonstrate, critical thinking has now become crucial for the young generation. It helps them to observe a problem through various aspects, thus envisage a clearer vision of how societies function. Indeed, practical competencies must be taken into consideration in the development of the modern generation.

In conclusion, academic knowledge and life skills both have significant value for students nowadays, and none of them should be seen as unnecessary in the developing era of the world.