Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It seems tourists are the only visitors of historical places and museums as compared to locals who rarely visit such ancient sites. The essay explains the reasons why historical places fail to attract the attention of locals and what solutions it provides to improve the situation.

To begin with. There are several reasons behind this trend. The main factor is that people living in the region have spent much of their life there. So they are pretty much aware of the history of the place and there is nothing new for them to experience while everything about the place is a fresh experience for tourists. Another factor that may provoke such disinterest in local residents is historical places themselves. They are poorly conserved owing to failure in allocating some budget for renovation. For example, Chogha Zanbil is one of the remarkable ancient monument in Iran which relegates no consideration and many people of the same area may not be aware of its existence. Therefore, only very few tourist come to visit the site not locals.

However, to tackle the problem, officials need to generate a renewed interest in people by holding festivals in remembrance of the big historical event of the place. They could also use promotion methods like ticket discount or free entry to encourage more locals to visit the place. Besides, it isn’t the only duty of museum administrators to keep these valuable treasures safe but also add more attractions to the site by redecorating the building or rearranging the artifacts. Different methods or techniques should be implemented to add more colour to such ancient reserves. For example, both psychologists and sociologists, who have adequate information about the culture and behavior of society, can recommend useful tips to promote the number of local residents to visit the places.

In conclusion, although tourists have much more enthusiasm than locals, it’s possible to provide such motivation in locals. This not only raise awareness of individuals about their local culture but also provide funds for restoration.