In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As technology is growing each day making our life more easier and convenient, entrepreneurs use this to attract customers by not just making their good known but also exaggerating its usage. However, the effects of such advertising is not always positive and is discussed below before giving final verdict.

One of the reasons for highlighting the product is every growing competition among other manufacturers. In an attempt to make it standout, they overly describe or make it look as if it is unique because they are very well aware of the fact that customers show no interest untill and unless there is a striking feature. Although, they offer attractive discounts to lure public into sales, definitely they cannot sale for loss especially when the manufacturing cost exceeds the selling cost. So, manufacturers simply boast their item in market by faster results and usage of natural products if it is cosmetic product or prolonged durability if item is materialistic.

Nevertheless, for the benefit of their pocket and to sustain their existence in business world, over emphasise leads to higher expectations and when not met causes disastereous effects in the market in the form of a bad reviews. Eventually, except for the release sale, business people wouldn't make much profit, along with leaving its reputation at stake. Also, people might go through adverse effects and continue having trust issues related to the company and its products.

In my opinion, emphasise to an extent is okay if the product meets its expectation or almost there. But it could be disastereous on both ends if companies highlighted even after knowing the potential of their product only for the sake of sale. I only see negatives more than positives so thereby I recommend genuine description of the product.