In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think is is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements act as a very important tool in business. They serve as the face of their product and bridges the gap between providers and consumers. Recently, there has been a widespread strategy by businesses in advertising which is to propagate that their product is new in one way or the other. The objective of this essay is to provide the root cause for this and to analyse whether this can be considered a beneficial or destructive approach.

Commodities always aim at fulfilling the desires of its consumers. As consumer, one always tends to explore and try out new things. It is a natural attitude of humans to get bored easily by repeating the same things and then seek for something inexperienced. Mankind has evolved in such a way that it needs change every now and then. For example, if a person buys a flavour of instant noodles one time, it is predictable that he will buy a different flavour the other time. So product makers or service providers, must provide something new every time the consumer looks for different options

There has been a tremendous change in the trade world in recent years. The competitors in every sector are hundred folds than those available 20 years back. At the same, rise in start-ups and changes in lifestyle of people has incurred an intense pressure on all businesses to survive and to lead in a profitable way. In order to sustain their market share or to record distinct growth, it is inevitable for them to promulgate that their product is the distinguished one.

On one hand, this advertising method, can motivate and encourage creativity and innovation. It mandates the company to invest in research and development and look for new talent acquisition providing employment for freshers. New ideas and perspectives pop up and a whole lot of opportunities will present itself. As a whole, it can increase the standards of mankind both as consumers and beneficiaries.

Looking at the other side, this may rise the violation of consumer rights in many ways. There might be increase in bogus advertisements which can mislead the customers. Industries can dwell into false depiction and untrustworthy promises which can put the ethics of trade under question. When the situation arises where only business which innovates can survive, it can crush small businesses and results in monopoly in all sectors.

Thus, juxtaposing both positive and negative consequences of the rising advertising strategy, it is clear that striving for new things is non-hinderable and therefore, it is necessary for the Government to strengthen the consumer laws and corporate laws to prevent the above mentioned risks accompanying the changing scenario.