There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive of negative development?

In recent years, these has been a growing trend toward distance learning among students and workers. While some people consider it toxic because it takes away people’s face-to-face interaction, for other it is a chance to improve their situation and this is where I lay my thoughts.

Since studying from home reduce time spending in commuting, students and workers can save a lot of time and work more productively. This is because accessible technology allows people to work flexibly at anytime, anywhere that they can find to be the most effective. Therefore, People can organize their own schedule every day and as a result, they can do their job, spent time with their family, exercise and have enough rest.

Another benefit of accessible technology is that it could open the door for people from low socioeconomic areas to change their life. Many prestigious universities around the world offer free courses on academic platform for everyone to access meaning that many people from the high mountains or remote area can acquire knowledge to make a living from the new skills. Online learning platform are giving people the chance to improve their situation.

That is not to say that distance learning not have any negative effect on students and workers. The internet is a home for not only knowledge, but also many other temptations. This mean that online learner’s concentration would be broken leading to poorer academic performance. But still, distance learning would benefit for individuals, especially for those who cannot access to expensive courses.