Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development.

It is becoming more popular for spending a lot of time on computer games and little time on physical activities. In my opinion, this development is mostly associated with negative impacts on children’s health and behavior.

There are various reasons why this phenomenon is becoming more common among the young generation. Firstly, the proliferation of entertaining technology has transformed video games from simple games to virtual worlds in which players hardly distinguish between themselves and the game characters. In other words, electronic games become more overwhelming than other forms of entertainment, and children hardly resist the attraction of it. Secondly, children nowadays develop their sedentary lifestyle to adapt to computer game growth. It leads to the consequence that is children are familiar with long sitting and had a psychological barrier to outdoor activities.

As mentioned above, this issue may bring numerous drawbacks for children. One serious problem that can arise from it is that dangerous health problems are caused by being addicted to playing computer games. For instance, children who allocate a substantial part of their time for video games are more likely to contract obesity and heart-related disease. Another negative impact worth considering is the majority of games on computer devices are violent rather than educational. That is to say, these games can cause anti-social behaviors and contribute to higher crime rates in the future.

In conclusion, although it has become more popular for children to use almost all the time to play video games, it has brought too many problems for this to be considered as a negative development.